The eight limbs of Ayurveda / Ashtanga Ayurveda

The eight limbs of Ayurveda / Ashtanga Ayurveda

Eight limbs of Ayurveda / Ashtanga Ayurveda.

Eight limbs of Ayurveda / Ashtanga Ayurveda.

Ayurveda is the science, which literally means “the science of life”.

It is an ancient medical system, which treats what is advantageous and what is harmful for the body and stresses on happy and unhappy states of life.

In other words, Ayurvedic system of medicine gives importance to the involvement of the patient’s well being.

Eight limbs of Ayurveda / Ashtanga Ayurveda, Ayurveda has eight branches, also we can call it as Ashtanga Ayurevda (Eight limbs of Ayurveda):

  1. Kaaya Chikitsa (Internal Medicine),
  2. Baala Chikitsa (Treatment of Children / Pediatrics),
  3. Graha Chikitsa (Demonology / Psychology),
  4. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa (Treatment of disease above the clavicle),
  5. Shalya Chikitsa (Surgery),
  6. Damstra Chikitsa (Toxicology),
  7. Jara Chikitsa (Geriatrics, Rejuvenation),
  8. Vrsha Chikitsa (Aphrodisiac therapy).

Kaya chikitsa:

‘Kaya’ is ‘Agni’ – The digestive fire in our body,so it influences the metabolism in the body. The imbalance to this ‘Agni’ is the reason for different diseases. With Kaya chikitsa general ailments, such as fever, diarrhea and cough etc by treating Agni.

Baala chikitsa:

Baala chikitsa, used to treat in children. We call it kumara Brtya also. There things to be remembered while treating children-

  • Children don’t know how to explain their complaints
  • So, prescription and dosage of medicine are different for them
  • Therefore, medicines should be palatable to them.

Because of these reasons, children are treated carefully and in a different manner, hence it is a  separate branch for them.

Graha chikitsa

With Graha chikitsa treatment for diseases like insanity, epilepsy and diseases caused by affliction of external factors such as evil spirits and ghosts / evils. Treating of psychosomatic diseases.

Urdhvanga chikitsa

Urdhyanga chikitsa used for treatment of diseases of the organs above the clavicle.Therefore, it includes the treatment of eyes, ears, nose, throat, mouth, teeth, hair and head.

Shalya chikitsa

Shalya chikitsa used for treatment of diseases caused by foreign bodies and diseases that need surgical therapies. Also, this is only for diseases cannot be cured by medicines.

Visha chikitsa

Visha chikitsa is used for treatment of poisoning from living beings, such as snakes, insects, spiders, scorpions and also of plants, metals and minerals.

Rasayana chikitsa

Rasayana chikitsa used in rejuvenation and restoring the youthfulness of an individual using different therapies and herbs that have to be taken to restore the youth & vitality.

Vajikarana chikitsa

Finally, Vajikarana chikitsa used for treatment that helps to get good progeny. Giving various medicines and therapies to improve the virility and the sexual ability of a person to get a good progeny.

–  Dr Subajanane Jeyanthan –

Niyanthree Ayurveda Clinic, Colombo, Sri Lanka.


12, Esakimuthu Place, Pickerings Road

Colombo 13, Sri Lanka

+94 11 239 1095

Call us today!

Opening Hours

Everyday: 9:00 - 19:00